Background Image

Billy Thorpe Scholarship finalists revealed

Q Music has announced the finalists for Arts Queensland's Billy Thorpe Scholarship for 2016. Congratulations to Babaganouj, FOREVR, Leanne Tennant, and Luke Peacock, who are now in the running for the prestigious $10,000 prize.

L-R: Babaganouj, FOREVR, Leanne Tennant, and Luke Peacock. Image courtesy Q Music.

The Billy Thorpe Scholarship offers structured support to an emerging contemporary musician or band to help establish their professional career through career planning and advice, as well as the opportunity to record with a local producer. Previous winners include teenage sensation Ayla, indie musician Jeremy Neale, and pop-rock band Astrid and The Asteroids

The Scholarship is an initiative of the Queensland Government to support new local talent, and is named after Billy Thorpe in honour of his exceptional musical legacy, which lasted five decades and resulted in 30 albums. 

The 2016 winner will be announced at the Queensland Music Awards on 21 March at Brisbane Powerhouse. 

Read more about the Billy Thorpe Scholarship.