Background Image

Queensland forte of musical talent celebrated

The best of Queensland’s musical talent hit the high notes this evening at Queensland Music Awards, where the state’s top musical artists have been celebrated.

Minister for the Arts Leeanne Enoch said the awards recognised the array of talent in the Queensland music industry.

“Each year the awards honour the fantastic achievements of Queensland music artists while shining a spotlight on exciting new talent,” Minister Enoch said.

“Entries across the 23 award categories showcase Queensland as a contemporary music standout on a national and international stage.

“Congratulations to all of the winners and finalists art this year’s awards.”

Ms Enoch said the Palaszczuk Government supports local contemporary music through a range of programs, including funding for QMusic, which presents the Queensland Music Awards, along with music industry event BIGSOUND.

This year Minister Enoch presented the 2019 Billy Thorpe Scholarship alongside Lynn Thorpe, widow of the late great Queensland-bred rock musician who the scholarship is named for.

“This year’s Billy Thorpe Scholarship winner is Brisbane-based pop outfit Pool Shop led by Jaimee Fryer, who impressed the judges with her ear for melodies along with her clear vision for the sound and direction of the project,” Ms Enoch said.

“Now in its 11th year, the Billy Thorpe Scholarship is supported by the Palaszczuk Government and provides $10,000 to an emerging artist to record with an established producer and receive career advice from Chugg Entertainment.

“Congratulations also to Billy Thorpe scholarship finalists, Jaguar Jonze, RIVAH and Sweater Curse.”

Last year’s Billy Thorpe Scholarship winner, Far North Queensland singer-songwriter Greta Stanley, said the prize was instrumental in helping develop her career.

“The 2018 Billy Thorpe Scholarship allowed me to create and release new music I otherwise would have been struggling to afford and manage to do successfully,” Ms Stanley said.

“It gave me confidence and reassurance that my art is important and appreciated by industry professionals and listeners alike.”

For more information, go to

A full list of winners is below.

  • Blues / Roots – Emily Wurramara, Tap Sticks         
  • Country – Emma Beau, Wild Heart   
  • Electronic / Dance – The Kite String Tangle, Give It Time (feat. Aalias)      
  • Heavy – Dead Letter Circus, The Armour You Own 
  • Hip-Hop / Rap – Resin Dogs, Pack Your Bags         
  • Indigenous – Emily Wurramara, Lady Blue   
  • Jazz – The Biology of Plants, Long Black    
  • Pop – Clea, Dreaming           
  • Regional – Sahara Beck, Here We Go Again           
  • Rock – The Jungle Giants, Used To Be In Love
  • Schools – Tokyo Twilight, Little Things (feat. DVNA)           
  • Singer Songwriter – Amy Shark, I Said Hi    
  • Soul / Funk / R'n'B – Mark Peric, The Sound of Light           
  • World / Folk – Asha Jefferies, Everybody Talks       
  • Video – Buttah, Ghost in the Machine           
  • Album of the Year – Tia Gostelow, Thick Skin         
  • Song of The Year – Clea, Dreaming 
  • Export Achievement Award – Confidence Man                    
  • Grant McLennan Lifetime Achievement – Henry ‘Seaman’ Dan      
  • People's Choice Regional Venue of The Year – NightQuarter                     
  • People's Choice Metro Venue of The Year – The Triffid                  
  • People's Choice Festival of The Year – Big Pineapple Music Festival                    
  • Billy Thorpe Scholarship – Pool Shop